Julien Carreyn

Grasse 2020

December 15, 2021-March 19, 2022 – Monaco

Grasse 2020 by Julien Carreyn is the second display at Le Quai, the new exhibition space in Monaco for contemporary art and design inaugurated by Silvia Fiorucci Roman, that joins the other spaces made available by the collector for the cultural activities of Società delle Api.
The project stems from a dialogue that began in 2019 between the artist and the exhibition curator, Cristiano Raimondi. Initially, the idea consisted of a commission aimed at photographing and re-presenting parts of Silvia Fiorucci Roman’s private collections in Grasse, the Moulin des Ribes, and the collector’s apartment in Monaco.
Julien Carreyn, already present in the collection, developed a narrative that goes beyond the private and domestic dimension of the collection and, thanks to its double approach (both photographic and pictorial), inscribed it in a timeless, peculiar story. The works of art and design from Silvia Fiorucci Roman’s collection are re-proposed by Julien Carreyn in a random and alienating way without any reference to their classification. Within the private collection, the artist has chosen to pay special attention to the works that he felt closest to his sensitivity, re-presenting them sublimated by renewed and personal vision. The inhabitants of the Moulin des Ribes (where the installation was conceived) thus become subjects and actors, presences that upset the order of time, things, and the collection itself.

Julien Carreyn’s œuvre/conte consists of approximately 160 unique photographic images (Polaroid or silver salt prints), 120 small paintings (gouache on cardboard), and a film. The installation has been classified in the collection’s archives as a single work with the title Grasse, 2020. The corpus does not have a precise temporality of reading; the artist’s intention is to allow the “users” to decide this temporality by themselves. This production was made between the beginning of the first lockdown and the end of the second.
On the occasion of the exhibition, the Società delle Api will create a public program where the artist will meet the curator and other guests. The public will have the opportunity to delve into the genesis of the project, explore the relationship between art and design, and learn about the relationship between Julien Carreyn’s poetics and Silvia Fiorucci Roman’s private collection.
The research from which the exhibition Grasse 2020 originated is combined with Julien Carreyn’s editorial project entitled Le Moulin des Ribes, the second volume of the Società delle Api series published by NERO Editions.

Julien Carreyn

Grasse 2020

décembre 15, 2021-mars 19, 2022 – Monaco

Grasse 2020 de Julien Carreyn est le second projet que la Società delle Api présente au Quai, un nouvel espace à Monaco dédié à l’art contemporain et au design, inauguré par Silvia Fiorucci Roman. Le Quai vient s’ajouter aux autres lieux mis à disposition par la collectionneuse pour les activités culturelles de la Società delle Api.

Le projet est né d’un dialogue, initié en 2019, entre l’artiste et le commissaire de l’exposition, Cristiano Raimondi. L’idée de départ était une commande visant à mettre en scène et à photographier une partie de la collection de Silvia Fiorucci Roman, conservée entre Grasse, le Moulin de Ribes et l’appartement de la collectionneuse à Monaco.

Julien Carreyn, déjà présent dans la collection Fiorucci Roman, a réussi à développer une narration qui dépasse la dimension privée de la collection et l’inscrit dans une histoire intemporelle et singulière, grâce à une double approche, photographique et picturale. Les œuvres d’art et les pièces de design de la collection de Silvia Fiorucci Roman sont « représentées » par Julien Carreyn de manière aléatoire et dépaysante, sans référence à leur classification. Au sein de cette collection privée, l’artiste lui-même a choisi de porter une attention particulière à certaines œuvres qui font écho à sa sensibilité, les donnant à (re)voir, sublimées par son regard renouvelé. Les habitants du Moulin des Ribes eux-mêmes deviennent ainsi sujets et acteurs de l’installation, présences et apparitions qui bouleversent l’ordre du temps, des choses et de la collection.

 

L’œuvre/conte de Julien Carreyn se compose de quelques 160 images photographiques uniques (polaroïds ou tirages aux sels d’argent), de 120 petites peintures (gouache sur carton) et d’un film. L’installation a été classée dans les archives de la collection comme une seule œuvre, sous le titre de Grasse, 2020. Le corpus n’a pas une temporalité de lecture précise. L’intention de l’artiste est de permettre à « l’utilisateur » de l’œuvre de décider lui-même de cette temporalité. Ce travail a été réalisé entre le début du premier confinement et la fin du second.

À l’occasion de l’exposition, la Società delle Api proposera un programme public où l’artiste rencontrera le commissaire et d’autres invités. Le public aura l’occasion de se plonger dans la genèse du projet, d’explorer la relation entre l’art et le design, et de découvrir la relation entre la pratique de Julien Carreyn et la collection privée de Silvia Fiorucci Roman.

La recherche à l’origine de l’exposition Grasse 2020 est accompagnée par le projet éditorial de Julien Carreyn intitulé Le Moulin des Ribes, deuxième parution de la collection Società delle Api, publiée par les Éditions NERO.