Photo: Evan Bourgeau

VV.AA.

Grass(e) as a Lab

Residency

May 3-June 10, 2021 – Grasse

Società delle Api presents an artistic itinerary through the meadows of the Moulin des Ribes. The project was developed in collaboration with landscape architect Marco Bay, invited by Silvia Fiorucci Roman, the association’s founder, to observe and explore the vibrant features of this “flowered” landscape.
The Moulin des Ribes is an old water mill located in Grasse, Provence, now owned by Silvia Fiorucci Roman, who transformed it both into her own house and one of Società delle Api’s three residencies. The project is annual and intends to interpret the “garden” as a space of artistic, theoretical, and botanical experimentation, where artists can create site-specific works, sow ideas and build inter-species relationships. Grass(e) as a Lab, curated by Cristiano Raimondi, understands nature as a generator of alchemical processes and a source of innovation similar to technology. Taking its cue from the role that a flower or bee might play in the production of knowledge, as well as from observation of the relationships and exchanges between different species of living beings, the project aims to give life to artistic and poetic experiments in dialogue with the heterogeneous ecosystem of the “meadow.” The project covers an area of the Moulin des Ribes situated beyond the creek that flanks the mill; it is a space that connects the source and flow of the water, a wooded terrain, a field caught between shadow and light, a place occupied by a bee colony that has transformed it, over time, into a protected and self-sufficient ecosystem. Here, the Società delle Api has cultivated more than three hundred species of melliferous flowers, as well as rare species of poppies, cosmos and ancient field flowers, creating “flowered landscapes” capable of stimulating creativity and contemplation and engendering multidisciplinary works and experiences. Over the course of the first year, a series of site-specific works were installed in the space, and artists and designers were invited to interpret the meadow’s ecosystem as a laboratory dedicated to the five senses.
The spatiality proposed by Cristiano Raimondi differs from the canonical spaces of the gallery or museum, offering artists a new environment in which to express their creativity—a physical space that strives, in its horizontality, to redefine the hierarchies through which human beings relate to nature.

Photo: Evan Bourgeau

This inaugural edition of the project, which was not open to the public due to Covid-19 restrictions, included: Markus Hansen’s installation Le générateur, a house-shaped device/sculpture built with simple pallets and completely covered by lavender plants, which offers food and shelter to the bees; a site-specific project by Petrir Halilaj and Alvaro Urbano, which combines a homage to Félix Gonzáles-Torres’s Untitled (Perfect Lovers) made with flowers that have traditionally been used to cure melancholy (Lavender, Lobelia, Morning Glory, Blue Vervain, Forget-Me-Not, Borage); both of them were set up in addition to the “grotesque” refuge work Tomorrow Is So Far by Alvaro Urbano, previously installed in the garden. In addition, three artists’ residencies—Derek MF Di Fabio, Jochen Lempert and Sofia Stevi—took place between May and June. Derek MF Di Fabio created a permanent treasure hunt to engage visitors to Moulin des Ribes with installations hidden in the garden; Jochen Lempert continued his photographic research, begun in 2019 in Kastellorizo, into the natural world of the Mediterranean; Sofia Stevi made a series of hand-painted picnic blankets that were used for moments of outdoor socializing. On the design front, the edition presented: a dinner set by Helle Mardahl conceived for serving meals made of edible flowers; an artist’s edition by Valentina Cameranesi Sgroi inspired by the world of bees, which was presented at the opening of the Le Quai space in Monaco; and a hybrid sculpture by Soft Baroque, a structure caught between archetypal form and functionality, which was installed to allow the flowered landscape to be viewed from above.

This edition of the project was also accompanied by the publication of a book of aphorisms about gardens written by the architect and landscape designer Marco Bay and published by Società delle Api.

Photo: Evan Bourgeau

Grass(e) as a Lab

Residency

mai 3-juin 10, 2021 – Grasse

Società delle Api, fondé par Silvia Fiorucci Roman, en collaboration avec l’architecte paysagiste Marco Bay, présente un chemin artistique et «fleuri» dans les prés du Moulin des Ribes, un ancien moulin à eau qui se trouve dans la ville de Grasse, Provence. Le projet est annuel et son but sera de penser le «jardin» comme espace d’essai artistique, théorique et botanique où les artistes puissent réaliser des œuvres liées au lieu, planter des idées et hybrider des relations inter-espèce. Grass(e) as a Lab, édité par Cristiano Raimondi, considère la nature en tant que créatrice de processus alchimiques et en tant que source d’innovation pareille à la technologie. À partir du rôle que les fleurs ou les abeilles jouent dans la production de connaissance et de celui de l’observation de la relation et des échanges entre les vivants et les espèces diverses, le projet vise à la création de expériences artistiques et poétiques en dialogue avec l’hétérogénéité de l’écosystème qui est le «pré». Le projet s’installe dans la zone du Moulin des Ribes qui se trouve «de l’autre côté» du ruisseau qui longe le moulin; il s’agit du territoire qui connecte la source et la rivière, d’une zone bordée d’arbres, d’un pré d’ombre et lumière, dont une partie est occupée d’une colonie d’abeilles qui ont permis au site de devenir un écosystème protégée et autosuffisant. C’est ici que la Società delle Api a cultivée plus de trois cents diverse espèces de semences de fleurs mellifères et de rares espèces de pavots, cosmos et autres anciens fleurs de champs, au but de créer des «paysages fleuri» capables d’encourager la créativité et la contemplation et de générer travails et expériences interdisciplinaires. Au cours de la première année, des œuvres in situ ont été installées en même temps que des artistes et des designers étaient invités à interpréter l’écosystème du pré en tant que laboratoire dédié aux cinq sens.

Cristiano Raimondi, responsable du projet, propose une spatialité différente des lieu habituel de l’art, comme les galeries et les musées, pour offrir aux artistes un lieu original où il puissent exprimer leur créativité en même tant que l’espace horizontal veut redessiner la hiérarchie à travers laquelle les êtres humains se mettent en rapport avec la nature.

Photo: Evan Bourgeau

Photo: Evan Bourgeau

Pour l’édition «zéro» du projet, pas encore ouverte au publique à cause des limitations dues au Covid-19, ont été présentées les œuvres suivantes: l’installation Le générateur de Markus Hansen, un dispositif/sculpture en forme de maison bâtie avec des simples palettes et couverte entièrement de lavande, qui puisse offrir nourriture et abri aux abeilles; le projet sur place de Petrit Halilaj et Alvaro Urbano qui paye hommage à l’œuvre Untitled (Perfect Lovers) de Félix Gonzáles-Torres, construite avec des fleurs qui historiquement étaient employées pour traiter la mélancolie (Lavande, Lobélie, Ipomée, Verveine bleue, Ne m’oublie pas, Bourrache); les deux ensemble se rajoutent à l’œuvre-refuge «grotesque» Tomorrow is So Far d’Alvaro Urbano, déjà présente dans le jardin. Entre mai et juin ont lieu les résidences des artistes Derek MF Di Fabio, Jochen Lempert et Sofia Stevi. Derek MF di Fabio a réalisé une chasse au trésor durable qui a accueilli les visiteurs du Moulin des Ribes avec des installations cachées dans le jardin; Jochen Lempert continue sa recherche des milieux naturels inscrits dans le bassin de la Méditerranée à travers la photographie, commencée en 2019 à Kastellorizo; Sofia Stevi a créé des serviette de pré peint à la main qui ont été employés pour la socialité en plein air dans le prairies fleuries du Moulin des ribes.
Pour ce qui concerne le design, il a été présenté: un service de plats conçu par Helle Mardahl pour servir des repas à base de fleurs comestibles; une édition d’artiste de Valentina Cameranesi Sgroi, inspiré au monde des abeilles qui a été présentée à l’inauguration de l’espace Le Quai (Monaco); enfin une sculpture, hybride de forme archétypique et fonctionnalité de Soft Baroque qui a été installée pour observer le paysage d’en haut.

Pour l’occasion, un livre d’aphorismes dédiés au jardin a été conçu, écrit par l’architecte paysagiste Marco Bay et publié par la Società delle Api.

Photo: Evan Bourgeau