Renato Leotta

Roma

Residency

March 9-23, 2020 – Rome

In 2020 Renato Leotta, one of the artists supported by Silvia Fiorucci Roman and Società delle Api, was one of the three finalists for the MAXXI Bvlgari Prize, the project created by these two institutions to support and promote the new generation of Italian artists.
His work, Roma, is a collection of images depicting cats and ruins and shot on 16mm films. Hosted by Silvia Fiorucci Roman at the residence of Società delle Api in Rome, the artist took these pictures in the city center during the first weeks of the Covid-19 lockdown (March 2020). The project is dedicated to the Eternal City, specifically to Largo Argentina, a historic square and archeological area with the ruins of four Roman temples dating back to the Republican era, and now home to the city’s oldest feline colony.

During the lockdown, the hectic life of Rome stopped, and the whole city resembled this calm, motionless place; the cats, their slow, silent lives, were the only presences in this desolate scenario. Protagonists of this project, they represented a pretext to reflect on the theme of the city in a historical moment in which human presence did not exist.
Conceived without an audience, Roma represents a “recorded landscape” where the gaze of the viewer and that of the artist merge, observing, recording, and highlighting the relationship that human beings have with other species, the natural world, and the environment that surrounds them.

The finalists of the 2020 MAXXI Bvlgari Prize were chosen by an international jury, composed of: Hou Hanru (Artistic Director of MAXXI, Rome), Bartolomeo Pietromarchi (Director of MAXXI Arte, Rome), Manuel Borja-Villel (Director of the Reina Sofia Museum, Madrid), Emma Lavigne (President of the Palais de Tokyo, Paris), and Victoria Noorthoorn (Director of the Museo de Arte Moderno, Buenos Aires).

Renato Leotta

Roma

Residency

mars 9-23, 2020 – Rome

En 2020 Renato Leotta, un des artistes soutenu par Silvia Fiorucci Roman et Società delle Api, a été l’un des trois finalistes du MAXXI Bvlgari Prize, projet initié par ces deux institutions afin de soutenir et de promouvoir la nouvelle génération d’artistes italiens.
Son projet, Roma, est une collection d’images de chats et de ruines romaines, tournée en 16mm. Accueilli en résidence à Rome par Silvia Fiorucci Roman et la Società delle Api, l’artiste a capté ces images dans le centre-ville, au tout début du premier confinement sanitaire, en mars 2020. Le projet est dédié à la « Ville éternelle », et plus précisément à Largo Argentina, une place historique et une zone archéologique où se trouvent les ruines de quatre temples romains datant de l’époque pré-impériale, qui abrite désormais la plus ancienne colonie féline de la ville.

Pendant le premier confinement la vie agitée de Rome s’est arrêtée d’un coup, la ville tout entière ressemblait alors à ce lieu calme et immobile ; les chats, avec leur vie lente et silencieuse, étaient les seules présences dans cette scène déserte. Protagonistes de ce projet, ils sont devenus le prétexte pour mener une réflexion sur le thème de la ville, à un moment historique où la présence humaine était évincée du paysage.
Conçu en l’absence de public, Roma nous donne à voir un « paysage enregistré » où le regard du spectateur et celui de l’artiste se confondent, observant, enregistrant et mettant en lumière la relation que les êtres humains entretiennent avec les autres espèces, le monde naturel et leur environnement.

Les finalistes du Prix Bvlgari MAXXI 2020 ont été sélectionnés par un jury international, composé de : Hou Hanru (Directeur artistique du MAXXI, Rome), Bartolomeo Pietromarchi (Directeur du MAXXI Arte, Rome), Manuel Borja-Villel (Directeur du Musée Reina Sofia, Madrid), Emma Lavigne (Présidente du Palais de Tokyo, Paris), et Victoria Noorthoorn (Directrice du Museo de Arte Moderno, Buenos Aires).