Sofia Stevi and Barbara Casavecchia
in conversation

July 13, 2022 – Monaco

In the frame of Sofia Stevi’s exhibition song without an ending, (April 14–July 22, 2022), the exhibition space of the Società delle Api in Monaco, Le Quai, will host a conversation between writer and curator Barbara Casavecchia and Sofia Stevi, They spoke to me without words.

The original title for this conversation, “Mi hanno parlato senza parole” (They spoke to me without words), is a quotation from a recent book by Italian poet Chandra Candiani: Questo immenso non sapere. Conversazioni con alberi, animali e il cuore umano (This immense not-knowing. Conversations with trees, animals, and the human heart). In response to Ben Eastham’s text accompanying the exhibition, the conversation intends to reflect on the multiple poetic conversations that Sofia Stevi shares with nature through her own world of symbols and archetypes. As Candiani writes in the book, we ought to relearn “the practice of wonder (…), that heals even the most wounded heart of the earth.”

Wednesday, July 13, 2022
11H00–13H30
Le Quai
8 Quai Antoine 1er, 4th floor
Monaco

The talk will be held in English

Followed by a lunch
Altatto, haute vegetarian cuisine

Support the association – participation fee €40

To participate, please write to contact@lasocietadelleapi.mc

Sofia Stevi (Athens, 1982) makes paintings, sculptures, and works on paper. Drawing inspiration from literature, philosophy and the everyday, her works bring together a wide range of references, from the writings of Victorian poet Christina Rossetti to images found on Instagram. Sofia Stevis lyrical practice encompasses painting, sculpture, book-making and poetry. In her work, memories of the Ancient world coexist with everyday life, resulting in compositions whose narratives are enigmatic and often broken. In her instinctive painting process, thoughts and ideas converge into artworks that are by turns poetic and dramatic. Moving between the real and imaginary, her works are often deeply personal, exploring the artists desires and dreams. Her recent solo exhibitions include: Alma Zevi, Venice (2021, 2018); The Breeder Gallery, Athens (2020, 2017); Pippy Houldsworth Gallery, London (2019); Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, Newcastle Upon Tyne (2017); Alma Zevi, Celerina (2016). Recent group exhibitions were held at The Breeder Gallery, Athens (2020); Galeria Pelaires, Palma, Mallorca (2020); Haus N, Athens (2020 & 2018); Wiener Art Foundation, Athens (2017); the Benaki Museum, Athens (2016); 53 Beck Road, London (2015); Aeropagus Konigen, Vienna (2015); Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Wakefield (2013); Whitechapel Gallery, London (2011). In 2015, she was artist-in-residence at Cuprum, in Nicosia (Cyprus). In 2010, Stevi co-founded Friary Road House poetry press, and in 2013 she co-founded the artist-led project space Fokidos, where she hosts exhibitions and residencies with both international and Greek artists. Stevi currently lives and works in Athens. She is represented by The Breeder gallery Athens.

Barbara Casavecchia is a writer, independent curator, and educator based in Venice and Milan, where she teaches at Brera art academy. Contributing editor for Frieze, her articles and essays have appeared in Art AgendaArt ReviewFlash ArtMousseSouth/documenta 14Spike, among others, as well as in several artist books and catalogues. From 2008 through 2017, she co-curated with Andrea Zegna the public art project AllAperto (Fondazione Zegna, Trivero, IT), with community projects and permanent site-specific installations by Daniel Buren, Alberto Garutti, Stefano Arienti, Roman Signer, Marcello Maloberti, Dan Graham, Liliana Moro, Alek O., Laura Pugno, Valentina Vetturi. In 2014, she co-curated the retrospective Maria Lai. Ricucire il mondo at MAN, Nuoro (with Lorenzo Giusti). In 2018, she curated the exhibition Susan Hiller. Social Facts, at OGR, Turin. She is currently (20212023) leading the research fellowship The Current III Mediterraneans: Thus waves come in pairs(after Etel Adnan),”, promoted by TBA21-Academy at Ocean Space.

Sofia Stevi and Barbara Casavecchia
in conversation

juillet 13, 2022 – Monaco

Dans la continuité de l’exposition de Sofia Stevi, song without an ending (14 avril–22 juillet 2022), Le Quai, l’espace pour l’art contemporain à Monaco de la Società delle Api, accueillera une discussion entre l’autrice et curatrice Barbara Casavecchia et Sofia Stevi, They spoke to me without words.

Le titre de cette conversation, “Mi hanno parlato senza parole” (They spoke to me without words) est une citation prise dans le livre récent du poète italien Chandra Candiani : “Questo immenso non sapere. Conversazioni con alberi, animali e il cuore umano”. En réponse au texte de Ben Eastham écrit pour l’exposition, la conversation veut renvoyer vers les nombreuses correspondances poétiques que Sofia Stevi partage avec la nature au travers de son univers symbolique et de ses archétypes. Comme Candiani dit dans son livre, nous devrions réapprendre “la faculté de s’émerveiller (…), ce qui guérit même le coeur le plus blessé au monde”.

Mercredi 13 juillet 2022
11H00–13H30
Le Quai
8 Quai Antoine 1er, 4ème étage
Monaco

La discussion se tiendra en anglais. 

Suivie d’un déjeuner
Altatto, haute cuisine végétarienne

Soutenez l’association – participation €40

Pour participer, merci de nous écrire contact@lasocietadelleapi.mc

Sofia Stevi (Athens, 1982) réalise des peintures, sculptures et œuvres sur papier. S’inspirant de la littérature, la philosophie et du quotidien. Son travail réunit un large prisme de références, des écrits de la poète Victorienne Christina Rossetti aux images trouvées sur Instagram. Sa pratique fait coexister la mémoire du monde ancien avec la vie de tous les jours, ce qui mène à des compositions dont la narration est énigmatique et souvent interrompue. Grâce à sa manière instinctive de peindre, pensées et idées convergent vers des oeuvres d’art parfois poétiques et énigmatiques. Ses oeuvres qui se situent entre le réel et l’imaginaire, sont souvent profondément personnelles et explorent les désirs et rêves de l’artiste. Parmi ses récentes expositions personnelles : Alma Zevi, Venice (2021, 2018); The Breeder Gallery, Athens (2020, 2017); Pippy Houldsworth Gallery, London (2019); Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, Newcastle Upon Tyne (2017); Alma Zevi, Celerina (2016). Ses dernières expositions collectives se tenaient à : The Breeder Gallery, Athens (2020); Galeria Pelaires, Palma, Mallorca (2020); Haus N, Athens (2020 & 2018); Wiener Art Foundation, Athens (2017); the Benaki Museum, Athens (2016); 53 Beck Road, London (2015); Aeropagus Konigen, Vienna (2015); Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Wakefield (2013); Whitechapel Gallery, London (2011). En 2015, elle était en résidence d’artiste à Cuprum, Nicosia (Cyprus). En 2010, Sofia Stevi est co-fondatrice de Friary Road House poetry press, puis 2013 elle co-fonde l’espace Fokidos qui accueille des expositions et des artistes en résidence, grecs et internationaux. Sofia Stevi vit et travail à Athènes, elle est représentée par The Breeder gallery Athens.

Barbara Casavecchia est auteure, curatrice indépendante et enseignante à Venise et Milan, où elle enseigne à l’académie d’art de Brera. Rédactrice pour Frieze, ses articles et essais ont été publiés entre autre dans Art AgendaArt ReviewFlash ArtMousseSouth/documenta 14Spike, comme dans divers livres et catalogues d’art. A partir de 2008 jusqu’en 2017, elle était avec Andrea Zegna co-curatrice du projet d’art public AllAperto (Fondazione Zegna, Trivero, IT), pour des projets collectifs et des installations in situ de Daniel Buren, Alberto Garutti, Stefano Arienti, Roman Signer, Marcello Maloberti, Dan Graham, Liliana Moro, Alek O., Laura Pugno, Valentina Vetturi. En 2014 elle était co-curatrice de la rétrospective Maria Lai. Ricucire il mondo au MAN, Nuoro (avec Lorenzo Giusti). En 2018 elle était curatrice de l’exposition Susan Hiller. Social Facts, à OGR, Turin. Elle dirige actuellement (2021–2023) la bourse de recherches The Current III Mediterraneans: Thus waves come in pairs(after Etel Adnan)”, soutenue par TBA21-Academy à  Ocean Space.