Sofia Stevi

song without an ending

April 14-July 22, 2022 – Monaco

From April 14 to July 22, 2022, the exhibition space of the Società delle Api in Monaco, Le Quai, founded by Silvia Fiorucci, will host song without an ending, an exhibition by Sofia Stevi and curated by Cristiano Raimondi.
The exhibition will consist of several large paintings, hung directly on the wall and made with cotton fabrics. These large works, ranging from three to ten meters in length, are inspired by Japanese ukiyo-e prints, made in the Japanese city of Edo between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries, a period of wealth and peace, in which the art world was flourishing; Byzantine art and Greek culture are another important source of inspiration for these works (and part of the artist’s personal heritage): mythical, historical and fictional heroines such as Medea and Medusa appear through allegories, images and suggestions, giving life to dreamscapes where reality and fiction intertwine.

© Evan Bourgeau

Ranging between two and three dimensions, and focusing on the decorative aspect, the paintings incorporate all these references in a very dynamic and theatrical way, creating a new and original narrative, populated not only by human figures but also, and above all, by animals. The representation of the animal and natural world is deeply linked to the sensibility of the artist, who was particularly affected by the disastrous events that occurred in Greece last summer, where a wildfire that lasted for days hit the island of Evia, burning forest land, forcing the evacuation of villages, and killing many animals such as rabbits, sheep, dogs, birds, and deer, that lived in the area. An event that showed the fragility of the world we live in and of the creatures that populate it; a fragility that has affected Sofia Stevi personally, in these last years, and that she felt the need to transpose allegorically in her paintings.

Stevi’s way of looking at the world and reworking its events recalls the sensitivity of a poet whose medium, however, is not words; her artworks are like poems made of paint, whose subjects are ephemeral, “stuff as dreams are made on,” quoting Shakespeare, one of the literary references dearest to her. The question Stevi asks herself is, in front of this transient fragility, what is the role of the artists: what is their duty, how should they face the world and its events and, above all, what can they leave behind them, and for how long.
The exhibition will address all these themes by creating a dialogue between the works, which will be linked together, creating a sort of landscape in which the public will have the opportunity to walk, live, and enjoy the cultural experience. Visitors will be literally surrounded by these paintings, which they will be able to look at closely and inhabit, recognizing the subjects and following their stories, as if it were a theatrical, as well as artistic, performance.

Sofia Stevi

song without an ending

avril 14-juillet 22, 2022 – Monaco

Du 14 avril au 22 juillet 2022, Le Quai, l’espace pour l’art contemporain de la Società delle Api, fondé à Monaco par Silvia Fiorucci Roman, accueillera song without an ending, un projet in situ de Sofia Stevi, sous la direction de Cristiano Raimondi.
L’exposition présentera quatre grandes peintures, non encadrées et réalisées avec des tissus en coton. Ces grandes œuvres, de trois à dix mètres de longueur, ont été inspirées par les estampes japonaises ukiyo-e réalisées dans la ville d’Edo entre le xviie et le xxe siècle, une période de paix et de prospérité qui connut une grande éclosion artistique. L’art byzantin et surtout la culture grecque – héritage culturel de l’artiste – sont une autre source d’inspiration pour Sofia Stevi : des héroïnes mythiques, historiques et fictives telles que Médée et la Méduse apparaissent à travers des allégories, des images et des suggestions, créant des paysages oniriques où réalité et fiction s’entremêlent.

En deux et trois dimensions, avec un accent fort porté sur leur valeur décorative, ces œuvres unissent toutes ces références d’une manière unique, dynamique et théâtrale, créant une narration nouvelle et originale, peuplée non seulement de figures humaines, mais aussi, et surtout, d’animaux.
La représentation du monde animal et naturel résonne intimement avec la sensibilité de l’artiste, qui a été particulièrement touchée par les événements désastreux qui ont eu lieu en Grèce, l’été dernier, quand un incendie qui a duré plusieurs jours a dévasté l’île d’Eubée, brûlant des forêts, obligeant à l’évacuation de certains villages et tuant de nombreux animaux qui vivaient dans la région, notamment des lapins, des moutons, des chiens, des oiseaux et des cerfs. Un désastre environnemental qui a une fois de plus confirmé la fragilité du monde dans lequel nous vivons et celle des créatures qui le peuplent. Depuis des années, Sofia Stevi réfléchit à cette fragilité : le travail allégorique qui porte l’œuvre présentée dans cette exposition témoigne de la nécessité et de l’urgence d’en témoigner.

La façon dont Stevi regarde le monde et en réélabore l’histoire rappelle la sensibilité d’un poète dont le médium ne serait cependant pas celui des mots ; ses œuvres sont des poèmes picturaux, aux sujets éphémères, «stuff as dreams are made on», pour citer Shakespeare, l’une de ses références littéraires de prédilection. La question que se pose Stevi face à cette fragilité du monde est celle du rôle des artistes : quel est leur devoir, comment peuvent-ils faire face au monde et aux événements actuels et, surtout, que peuvent-ils laisser derrière eux, et pour combien de temps ?
L’exposition abordera tous ces thèmes en créant un dialogue entre les œuvres, qui seront reliées entre elles créant ainsi une sorte de paysage dans lequel le public pourra se promener, afin de faire l’expérience vivante et sensible de cet objet d’art. Les visiteurs seront physiquement entourés par les peintures, qu’ils pourront observer dans le détail et « habiter », en reconnaissant ainsi les sujets et en suivant leurs histoires. Ils seront comme immergés dans une représentation théâtrale en même temps que picturale.